Saag Paneer

Saag Paneer is one of my all time favourite Indian dishes and as soon as the chef at my local takeaway hears my voice on the phone he starts cooking it straight away (I eat The Methi’s saag paneer at least once a week).

For this recipe I changed the leaves up a little bit and used a mixed bag to add a little colour to the plate. I also served it up with a poached egg on a slice of corn bread for a simple and delicious brunch (Video on how to poach the perfect egg here).

What I Used

1 table spoon of cooking oil

100g of paneer cheese, cubed.

1 teaspoon of cumin seeds

2 teaspoon of garam masala

1 pinch of turmeric

1 tablespoon of cornflour

1 shallot, diced

1/2 a bag of baby leaves (could just use baby spinach but mixed leaves add more colour to the plate).

Salt and pepper to taste

Sriracha sauce (because I have it on everything)

What I did with it all

I started off by mixing the spices and flour in a bowl and tossing the paneer until lightly coated.

I then added the cooking oil to a pan and fried the shallot until soft.

Next I dropped in the paneer and fried on high until the flour started to crisp up on the outside.

As soon as it started to crisp I added in the leaves, gave it a good stir and then covered the pan to steam the leaves.

Once the leaves were wilted down I took it all off the heat and served as quickly as possible.

I then added copious amounts of hot sauce to mine and scoffed it as quickly as possible.

11244501_119298311743891_368767991_n

Leave a comment