Sweet & Sour Black Beans on Toast

This is another recipe that grew from my student days when I had to make a little go a long way. It’s a twist on a classic adding a little bit of spice to a firm family favourite.

What I Used

! shallot finely chopped.

1 clove of garlic, crushed

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 teaspoon smoked paprika

1 teaspoon chilli powder

1 tin black beans, drained

1 teaspoon tomato puree

1 squirt of ketchup

1 slice of toast

1 handful of fresh leaves

1 good grating of strong mature cheddar

black-beans
Image from @gimmesomeoven

What I did

Softened the shallots in a pan with a glug of cooking oil, added in the garlic and dried spices to form a paste and then dropped in the beans.

This is the perfect time to pop the toast on.

I then added in the puree and ketchup to form a thick sauce.

Season to taste with salt and pepper and serve on toast and leaves and covered in cheese.

beans

Leave a comment